Reviews

8.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.1
Comfort
7.5
Property location
9.6
Facilities
7.6
Staff
8.6
Value
8.1

Reviews

    Mark
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    12 October 2018

    5* view and location

    The stairs at night
    Amazing location with amazing views of the cathedral and town
    Philip
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    4 October 2018

    You pay for the location, rather than posh hotel facilities, and we are glad we did.

    1) The shower was poor, very little water pressure 2) There is a painting on the bedroom ceiling which was in disrepair 3) The cathedral bells ringing at 7am! I didn't really mind this, but just to warn others that this happens. 4) There are only very basic facilities - a bedroom and a bathroom (like a UK Travelodge). No restaurant, no cooked food. We did not visit the bar during our stay as it seemed to be permanently closed but, presumably, open upon request.
    1) The location and view. It is about 1 minute walk from the cathedral in the heart of Florence. Lots of restaurants and ice cream stalls close by. 2) The owner was friendly and spoke good English. On our leaving day we were supposed to check out by 11am, but my wife was feeling under the weather and he let us stay until 3pm. He did not charge extra, but I offered to pay and he accepted.
    it

    Review score

    7.9
    21 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Crystal
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    17 September 2018

    Perfect location.

    Perfect location right next to the duomo but up high so quiet. Its a two star so very basic but perfectly serviceable. Great views. Helpful staff. Roof terrace bar with the best view in Venice, or for having your coffee on in the morning.
    Cameron Byfield
    au

    Review score

    6.7
    13 September 2018

    Stay in Florence

    The English speaking older man was rude and unwelcoming. Quite expensive for such an old property and uncomfortable bed.
    Very very close to the duomo. Nice sunset on the rooftop terrace.
    Matt & April
    au

    Review score

    5.8
    22 August 2018

    Unprofessional even for a 2 star hotel, I don't recommend this hotel for anyone.

    Owner is a liar, rude & loves to sleep on the job. (read below for more details) For CHECKOUT, he demanded we pay cash for the city tax. Luckily, we had stayed at 6 other hotels prior to this stay & none of them have requested this. I confidently explained that what he is requesting is incorrect & not in the best interest of the “guest”. He started to get very agitated & requested it again saying that I have to pay a commission just like he does (this did not justify his request nor did it make sense?) I explained again of my previous 6 hotel stays in the past 4 weeks & not one has requested this. My partner & I knew he was lying so I said to him “sorry, but its card or nothing, we’re not paying in cash”. Needless to say, he picked up his eftpos machine, mumbled some words & I paid via card. It was a very awkward departure. For CHECK-IN We made our way up to the hotel via a very dodgy lift (floor was flexing & cracked on the south side), we exited the lift, took 3 steps to the lobby desk & no one was there? We looked to the right to see someone sleeping with their head hard up against the table (this was in the Breakfast room). We woke him up & told him we are here to check in. He was very dazed & gathered our keys, took us to our room & told us about the option for Breakfast in the morning. No description of what it was just that it was at 8:30am (we never tried the breakfast as that’s to late for us) He explained the complex key unlocking procedure if we stayed out later then 8:30pm (this was not an issue). There was no general information handed over which lead to numerous questions that we later had to go back and ask. The Wi-Fi password was incorrect, we had to go back to the desk later on only to find him sleeping in the same room again. This seemed quite disturbing as anyone/ a thief could walk past & take someone’s room key.
    The location was perfect, could walk to all the attractions. WIFI was one of the best we’ve had yet (once you get the correct password, one supplied was incorrect) The view was fantastic, great airconditioning for our 30-34 degree days. Clean towels and sheets.
    Shivam
    in

    Review score

    8.8
    12 August 2018

    Great find!

    Very close to the train station (10 minutes walk right through the main square). Our room had a direct view of the Duomo. Spacious rooms and good wifi. Erminio was a great host and went above and beyond to help us out. Will definitely stay here again.
    Tracy Clarke
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    7 August 2018

    Great little budget hotel in the heart of Florence

    The terrace was the highlight! Views over the city and right next to thw Duomo. Excellent aperol spritz too! Staff very amenable and the location was fantastic.
    Sayedamid Zia
    nl

    Review score

    10
    27 July 2018

    Amazing hotel

    Size of the showers is a bit small but enough for one person
    The airconditioning was amazing, we were in florence on a very hot day and returning to the room was the best feeling ever. The view from the balcony was amazing too, you can see the duomo really well.
    Antonia
    gb

    Review score

    2.9
    11 July 2018

    Awful, we left after one night and went to another hotel

    It's on the 4th floor with an ancient rickety old tiny lift, reception man miserable, room is outdated, small, itchy sheets, old bathroom with shower curtain, the roof garden is only visited to see the view, old fake turf on the floor, overgrown plants there, not a place to relax, the whole place is unloved. Shame as it could be lovely.
    The view was the only good thing
    carlita84
    it

    Review score

    8.8
    16 June 2018

    It’s all amazing

    Nothing
    The amazing view
    Hestia Stoffberg
    za

    Review score

    9.6
    29 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sandra
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    15 October 2018
    Hotel is quite run down, could use a major update (including the beds).
    Location is fabulous, right in the middle of everything you came to Florence to see.
    christian
    us

    Review score

    2.5
    10 October 2018
    Disgusting
    Nothing
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    9 October 2018

    Would definitely go back.

    Shower is small.
    View and location are incredible. The roof top bar is amazing. The staff is super friendly and helpful.
    Workaholic traveler
    us

    Review score

    5.8
    5 October 2018

    Good location, but kind of old and gross.

    The hotel was old and looked kind of gross. It was odd that there was only 1 key, and it had to be locked in a certain way. Very overpriced for the quality of room. Maybe it costs more because of the location. Next time I'd say you can pay the same and get a nicer place a bit farther from the center.
    The location was great.
    gb

    Review score

    6.7
    1 October 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Dolores
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    28 September 2018

    Unbelievably great location almost right next to the duomo. Erminio, the owner, is a really good guy

    The tinyness of the shower.
    The duomo was our night light. The rooftop bar with the view all under a full moon was what we thought was the best kept secret of Firenze.
    Marisa
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    28 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Roberto
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    3 September 2018

    Great location and view. Eat somewhere else.

    The breakfast
    The breakfast was terrible and sparse.
Loading reviews